Brent Williams

Chairman – independent non-executive director
BA (University of Cape Town), BProc (University of Western Cape), LLM (Harvard University Law School), DLA Piper Harvard Leadership Program (Harvard Business School)

Brent was appointed a director and chairman of SepHold on 3 March 2012. Brent was admitted as an attorney in 1992 and has held a number of key positions. He is currently the chief executive officer of Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr.

Independent non-executive director and chairman of the audit and risk committee
BComm (UFS), BCompt Hons (Unisa), CA(SA), Executive Programme in Strategy and Organisation (Stanford University Business School), TCTA Leadership Development Progamme (GIBS), AltX Director Programme (JSE & WBS)

Martie was appointed an independent non-executive director on 22 September 2016. Between 1994 and 2008, Martie was the CFO and then CEO of the Trans Caledon Tunnel Authority. She has served as non-executive director and member or chairman of audit committees for Bond Exchange of SA, Airports Company of SA, Johannesburg Water SOC and Denel. She is currently a non-executive director of Development Bank of Southern Africa and non-executive member of the Credit Committee overseeing Africa and India at FirstRand Bank.

Mpho Makwana

Independent non-executive director
BAdmin (University of Zululand), BAdmin (Hons) (University of Pretoria), Postgraduate Diploma: Retailing Management (University of Stirling Institute of Retail Studies), Kellogg Executive Development Programme

Mpho was appointed a director of SepHold on 11 January 2013. Mpho is the chairman of ArcelorMittal, an independent non-executive director at Adcock Ingram Holdings Limited, Nedbank Group Limited and Nedbank Limited, among others. He also serves on a number of unlisted companies’ and trustee boards.

Pieter Fourie

Independent non-executive director
B.Com (Accounting) and LL.B degrees (University of Cape Town), MBA (Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University) ,Fellow of the African Leadership Initiative and the Aspen Global Leadership Network.

Basani was appointed a director of SepHold on 9 November 2016. She has over ten years of financial services experience in the areas of corporate finance, private banking and private equity. Basani is a director of Transcend Capital (Pty) Limited, a boutique corporate finance firm specialising on B-BBEE ownership advisory for multinationals. She was admitted as an attorney of the High Court after serving articles at Edward Nathan and Friedland (now Edward Nathan Sonnenbergs).


Independent non-executive director
BA (Economics and International Politics) (University of South Africa), BSocSci (Hons) (University of Natal), MPhil (University of Sussex)

Moss was appointed a director of SepHold on 1 February 2008. Moss was instrumental in developing the industrial policy of the African National Congress and was economic advisor to President Thabo Mbeki from 1995 to 2000. He serves on a number of boards including SA Breweries and Dimension Data.


Alternate director to Moses Ngoasheng
CA(SA), CFA, Member of South African Institute of Chartered Accountants and Association for Investment Management and Research

Justin was appointed alternate director to non-executive director Moses Ngoasheng on 21 August 2014. He is currently a member of Safika’s executive team and has a wealth of experience in accounting and valuation, mineral rights, BEE structuring, industrial and mining corporate finance.

Justin completed his articles with Deloitte & Touche in 1995 and then joined Rand Merchant Bank where he worked for six years, predominantly in the corporate finance division. In 2002 he co-founded QuestCo and simultaneously assisted Safika Holdings in starting Safika Resources and Safika-controlled Ntsimbintle Mining.

Rose ‘Shibe’ Matjiu

Non-executive director
BA (Hons) (Social Work) (University of the North), MA (Medical Social Work) (University of Pretoria), Certification in Mining and Minerals (University of the Witwatersrand)

Shibe was appointed a director of SepHold on 23 August 2005. Shibe has extensive experience as a professional community and social worker in government and the private sector. She has served in a number of directorate positions and is also a member of South African Women in Mining and the Business Women’s Association.

Pieter Fourie

Non-executive director, chief executive officer – Dangote Cement South Africa (Sephaku Cement)
BCom (Accounting), Executive Development Programme (PRISM) for Global Leaders (IMD, Switzerland)

Pieter was appointed a director of SepHold on 20 November 2009. Pieter has extensive experience in the cement industry and assumed the position of chief executive officer of SepCem in May 2007.

Dr Lelau Mohuba

Chief executive officer – executive director
MBChB (University of Natal, now Nelson Mandela School of Medicine)

Lelau was appointed a director and founding Chairman of SepHold on 3 February 2005 and became CEO on 28 March 2012. Lelau retired as a medical practitioner in 2001 after a 22-year career. His commercial career began in 2002 and since then, he has served in various capacities in several entrepreneurial endeavours.

Neil Crafford-Lazarus

Financial director – executive director
BCompt (University of the Free State), BCompt (Hons) (University of South Africa), CA(SA)

Neil was appointed a director and CEO of SepHold on 1 June 2007 and became financial director on 28 March 2012. Neil started his career in mining finance in 1988. Since then, he has held various senior positions in taxation, business development and corporate finance with companies such as Anglo American Corporation, Gencor and BHP Billiton. He also served as financial director of Xstrata SA Proprietary Limited between 1998 and 2005.


Executive Director , Business Development Director – Sephaku Holdings

Kenneth was appointed a director of SepHold on 29 July 2013. Kenneth has extensive experience in the ready-mixed concrete and aggregates industry. Kenneth spent 20 years at Lafarge South Africa holding various management positions. He was in charge of all aspects of the quarry and ready-mixed concrete operations. Kenneth established Métier within KwaZulu-Natal in 2007, before expanding operations into Gauteng.


For contact details, click here